Does Tennessee Require Emissions Testing?
Emissions testing in the state of Tennessee is now a touchy subject among legislators. Dating back to the mid-1980s, the measure was originally put into effect to help clean up the air in more heavily polluted cities like Nashville and Chattanooga, but today many believe that the law is dated and unnecessary. For the time being, Tennessee requires emissions testing in five of the state’s 95 counties. Keep reading for details on what counties are affected, how often you’ll need to get your vehicle tested, where to go and so much more!
Read More: Why Are Mazda Vehicles So Fun to Drive?
Which counties in Tennessee require emissions tests?
Whether or not you will need to take your vehicle in for testing depends on the county in which your vehicle is registered. Tennessee law requires that motorists residing in any of the five specified counties pass a vehicle emissions test before being able to obtain a state vehicle registration or registration renewal. Counties that require emissions testing include:
- Hamilton County
- Rutherford County
- Sumner County
- Williamson County
- Wilson County
How much does an emissions test cost?
At the time of writing, the fee for an emissions test in the state of Tennessee is $9.00.
How often does Tennessee require emissions tests?
For residents of those specified counties, vehicles must be inspected annually within 90 days of your registration’s expiration date.
Where can I find an emissions inspection station?
State residents can visit the Department of Environment & Conservation for a list of authorized emissions inspection stations and their locations. You can have your vehicle inspected at any testing station in the five-county area regardless of where your vehicle is registered.